A Mango-Shaped Space by Wendy Mass

9 Dec

This week I read a great realistic fiction book called A Mango-Shaped Space.  This book is by my favorite author, Wendy Mass.  This book is about a girl named Mia who sees colors when she sees words, hears words and names, and hears noises.  Mia has kept this a secret from everyone because she didn’t want to look crazy.

I really, really enjoyed reading this book.  I liked it for several reasons.  One reason is that Mia has a black and white cat just like me.  Another reason is that Mia is a synesthete, which means that she sees colored letters and numbers.  I think that being a synesthete would be really cool.  I also liked this book because it isn’t just about Mia’s colors.  In the book, she has problems with her best friend, her family, and her cat.  I think that those aspects of the book make more realistic because in real life, life isn’t just about one thing at a time.

Mia and I don’t have much in common.  Mia is a synesthete and I’m definitely not.  Mia really doesn’t like math and she loves history.  I love and math and don’t really like history.  I only have one sibling and Mia has two siblings, one older and one younger.  Mia only has one best friend and a few kinda close friends.  I have three best friends and four other kinda close friends.  Even though Mia and I aren’t very alike, I think she’s an interesting character.

Leave a Reply

