The Magician’s Nephew by C. S. Lewis

9 Dec

This week I read a fantasy book by C.S. Lewis called The Magician’s Nephew.  This is the first book in the Narnia series.  It tells how Narnia, the talking animals, and the Wicked Witch, Jadis, came to be.

There are two characters in this book that I didn’t like.  One of them, Uncle Andrew, is the uncle of Digory, one of the two main characters.  Uncle Andrew had a box that his godmother had given him from the lost island of Atlantis.  Inside the box was magical dust, and Uncle Andrew used it to make himself an evil Magician.  The other character that I don’t like is another evil Magician named Jadis.  Jadis was the queen of a different world and was sent to sleep for many years.  Digory and the other main character, Polly accidentally woke her up, thereby setting off another chain of events.

I chose this book mainly for one reason.  My sister and dad have read all of the Chronicles of Narnia and have wanted me to read them ever since.  I decided to try one and liked it so much that I decided to blog about it.  There was another reason that I decided to read it, though.  On my flight to Africa, one of the only movies was Voyage of the Dawn Treader, which is based on another Narnia book.  After I watched it, I was curious about what happened before that and I wanted to read some of the other books.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: