Things Hoped For by Andrew Clements

18 Dec

I finished Palace of Mirrors by Margaret Peterson Haddix last weekend.  The ending put another book by Margaret Peterson Haddix on my favorites list.  In case you want to read this book, I won’t spoil the ending.  I will say that one of the reasons I like Margaret Peterson Haddix is because of her endings.  I would recommend this book to everyone!

This week I read a new book called Things Hoped For by Andrew Clements.  This is the second book in the series, but I like this one much better than the first.  Things Hoped For is an awesome sci-fi book about a girl named Gwen.  Gwen is a high school senior who plays violin.  She lives with her grandfather in NYC so she can get into a good musical college.  However, right before her college auditions, her grandfather goes missing, leaving a message for Gwen not to worry.

In this book, the setting really affects the characters.  In NYC, everything is crowded and busy.  This affects Gwen and her friend Robert several times.  One time, while shoe shopping, Gwen sees a shadow with no person nearby to make the shadow.  Since the store is crowded, nobody else noticed the shadow.  Another way how the setting affects the characters is the music.  Gwen and Robert are in NYC because they want to go into music majors in college.  Without their shared love of music, Gwen and Robert would never have made their discovery.

I would change the ending of this book a little bit.  In the ending, Gwen’s grandfather dies.  If I had written this book, I wouldn’t have had him die.  I would also have had Gwen’s Uncle Hank be nicer and help Gwen after her grandfather died.  Also, I don’t think that the police really caught William.  I would have had the police ask Robert to help them find him.  Overall, I think this was a great book.

Leave a Reply

