The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan

6 Jan

This week I read a fantasy book by one of my favorite authors, Rick Riordan.  The Red Pyramid is about two kids, Carter and Sadie Kane, who are the descendants of the Egyptian pharaohs.  Carter and Sadie are trying to defeat Set, the Egyptian god who is trying to take over the world.  Carter and Sadie are hosting two other gods, Isis and Horus.

I liked this book okay.  It wasn’t as good as some of Rick Riordan’s other books.  I didn’t really like some parts of the main section.  However, I didn’t like the ending at all.  The rest of the book was really strong and good, but the ending was really weak.  Some of the other books by the same author were a lot better. It was pretty good, but there are a lot of parts that I would change.

Most of the parts I would change about this book are in the ending.  One thing I would change is Carter and Sadie’s father.  He intentionally hosted the god Osiris’s spirit, knowing that he would die.  I would have had Osiris die, but their father live.  Another thing I would change is Amos, Carter and Sadie’s uncle.  He was completely taken over by Set, who was using him to try to lure the two Kanes into a trap.  Amos tried to resist the god, but Set was much more powerful than him.  Amos’s confidence was shattered and he just moped around after Set was defeated.  Eventually, he decided to go to some magical healers to see if they could help him.  I would have had him try to tell Carter and Sadie what was happening before Set completely gained control.  Those are just a few things that I would change about this book.

Leave a Reply

