The Unwanteds by Lisa McMann

9 Feb

https://i2.wp.com/photo.goodreads.com/books/1308432658l/9917879.jpg

This week I read the BEST BOOK EVER!  The Unwanteds by Lisa McMann is so good, I couldn’t stop reading it!  (Just ask my parents.  They couldn’t get me to do anything else until I’d finished it) The Unwanteds is a futuristic book (I know, I’ve been reading a lot of those lately) about a boy named Alex Stowe, who lives in Quill, a powerful area that grows more powerful every year at the Purge.  At the Purge, all thirteen year olds are sorted into three groups: Wanted, Necessary, and Unwanted.  Wanteds and Necessaries stay in Quill, while the Unwanteds are brought to the Death Farm to be eliminated for the crime of being creative.  Or so everyone thought.  At the Purge this year, Alex and his twin, Aaron are to be sorted.  Aaron became a Wanted, while Alex was Unwanted.  As it turns out, Alex and the other Unwanteds aren’t killed.  Instead they go to the magical world of Artimé, where their creativity is  their most important skill.

Alex’s twin, Aaron, is an important part of this book.  Happy as he is in Artimé, Alex constantly wonders about his twin.  After all, Aaron drew in the dirt, just like Alex.  Alex had taken the blame for Aaron’s infraction, thinking at the time that he was saving his twin’s life.  I think Aaron doesn’t deserve to be in Artimé.  He did let Alex take the blame for his infraction, and he reported many other people’s infractions, too.  (Of course, those aren’t the only reasons I dislike Aaron.  But telling you those reasons would spoil the ending…)  Eventually Alex realizes how different he and Aaron are, but not before he makes a mistake that could cost him his life…

I would recommend this book to anyone.  Anyone who liked The Hunger Games, The Bar Code Tattoo, any other futuristic book, you would love it.  Also, the book is fantasy, so if you like fantasy, this would also be an excellent choice.  Even those of you who prefer realistic fiction or historical fiction or anything else, I still think that you would enjoy this.  YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK!!!!!  ( Oh, and in case you haven’t realized, I give this book a √++)

One Response to “The Unwanteds by Lisa McMann”

  1. Ms. Davis March 21, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

    Yahoo!!! I loved this book too!!!! I will say I even loved it as much as I enjoyed The Hunger Games. I am so happy you read this and enjoyed it as much as I did. We have very similar tastes in books! 🙂

Leave a Reply

