Among The Hidden by Margaret Peterson Haddix

17 Feb

https://i0.wp.com/images4.fanpop.com/image/photos/15300000/Among-the-Hidden-the-shadow-children-15348545-387-600.jpg

This week I read a new book by Margaret Peterson Haddix, Among the Hidden.  I didn’t really like it as much as some of her other books.  It just didn’t really hook me in.  I guess it was okay, as books go, but it wasn’t my favorite.  The book is about an illegal third child, Luke.  The Population Police outlawed having three children because of food shortages.  Luke meets another shadow child, Jen.  Jen’s family is rich and she can communicate with other rich shadow children.  Luke, however is poor, so he didn’t know that there were other shadow children out there.  Jen teaches him about using the computer in secret chat rooms that other third children use.  She also lends him books about the population laws and why the Government says they made those laws.

Like I said above, I didn’t really like this book.  It was kind of short and Margaret Peterson Haddix didn’t really go into as much detail as she usually does.  The plot line was simple, and things moved too quickly for it to really get depth.  I think that I would have liked this book more when I was younger.  Now I’m used to more complicated plot lines and more details that this book has.  I was kind of surprised that I didn’t like it that much.  I really liked Just Ella and Palace of Mirrors, so I thought that I would like this book, too.

I chose to read this book for three main reasons.  The first reason is that my sister recommended it, and we usually like reading the same books.  (Not this time, though)  The other reason I decided to read this book is the author. I have read a few other books by Margaret Peterson Haddix, and I enjoyed all of those.  I figured this book would be the same style as those other types of books.  The third reason that I read it was book club.  When we had book club a few months ago, Among the Hidden was one of the books.  I was in a different group, and the people in the Among the Hidden group really liked the book.  I’d say this book got a √.

Leave a Reply

