Eragon by Christopher Paolini Part One

2 Mar

https://i2.wp.com/images.wikia.com/inheritance/images/7/7d/Saphira.jpg

This week I started Eragon by Christopher Paolini.   This is a fantasy book about a boy named Eragon.  One day while hunting, Eragon finds a polished blue stone.  He takes it home to see if he can sell it, but nobody knows what type of stone it is.  Then, it hatches into a blue dragon!  Unfortunately, the king doesn’t want anyone to have a dragon, so he sends monsters to capture Eragon.  Eragon and his dragon, Saphira, fly away, but Eragon’s uncle is not as lucky.  The Ra’zac (the creatures king sent to find Eragon) burn his house and kill him.  Eragon escapes his town with the help of an old man named Brom.  Brom knows about dragons, magic, the Ra’zac, and other things that most people don’t know about.  Together they set off to kill the Ra’zac.

I really like this book so far.  Some parts of it are a little slow, but other than that, it’s really good.  My sister has been bugging me to read this for a while, but I didn’t want to start the series just yet.  The final book, Inheritance, came out very recently.  I didn’t want to finish the other books and have to wait for the next book, like I have to do with another series.  I’m glad that I started this book, although I think I could have started this earlier.  I started this book a week and a half ago, and I’m only halfway through.  I really like this book so far.

Even though I like this book myself, I wouldn’t recommend this book to everyone.  Eragon (the book itself, not the character) is a little violent in places.  There’s a lot of fantasy elements in here, like magic, weird creatures that pass as humans, and, of course, dragons.  People who don’t like any violence or books with a lot of fantasy elements probably wouldn’t like this.  For people who like fantasy, dragons, magic, monsters, all those things, I think this book would be a good fit.  Since I haven’t finished the book I can’t really rate it, but so far, I think I’d give it a √+.

Leave a Reply

