The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

30 Mar

Katniss Everdeen, in the arena of the 74th Hunger Games

Hunt or be hunted.

Kill or be killed.

Welcome to the Hunger Games.

This week I read the Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.  Everybody’s so excited about the movie, I figured that I would read the books before I went to watch it.  Anyway, here’s a quick summary:  The Hunger Games.  The Capitol’s punishment for the district’s rebellion.  Katniss has been dreading this year, when her little sister’s name will be entered into the picking for the Hunger Games.  It’s only one slip out of thousands, but, against all odds, Prim’s name is picked.  Prim can’t kill anything, not even an animal for meat.  And in the Games, where all the tributes are killed except for one?  She doesn’t stand a chance.  So Katniss steps forward to take her place, knowing it will probably cost her her life.  Peeta Mellark, the baker’s son, is the other tribute.  Katniss doesn’t know how she feels about that, since Peeta once saved her and her family from starving.  In the Capitol, Peeta reveals his longtime crush on Katniss, making them known as the star-crossed lovers from District 12.  Once the Games have begun, Katniss and Peeta both survive the beginning, although Peeta is badly injured.  He probably would have died if the rules hadn’t been changed.  The change says that two tributes from the same district can win if they are the last ones alive.  Katniss goes to find Peeta, and nurses him back to health.  They become the last remaining tributes, when the rules change back.  Instead of killing each other, they threaten to commit double suicide unless they can both win.  Once the Games are over, it seems like everything is perfect.  But their problems aren’t over.  Not by a long shot.

This is one of the best books I have ever read.  I know, it seems like I say that about every book I blog about, but that’s because I usually blog about the books I like.  A bunch of the other books I read aren’t very good, in my opinion, so I wouldn’t want to recommend them to other people on my blog.  But this book is really good, although I’d only recommend it to older audiences.  It is kind of violent and a lot of people die.  I don’t think that anyone under fifth grade should read this, and that’s kind of stretching it.  I think people would get more out of it if they read it in seventh grade (and yes, I am not in seventh grade yet) or older.  Anyone in seventh grade and up would probably like this book, although some people who don’t like violence wouldn’t like this.  Personally, I think Suzanne Collins is a genius.

As you can probably already tell, I loved this book.   Suzanne Collins really makes you feel like you’re Katniss, trying to survive the Hunger Games.  She really describes Katniss’ feelings well.  Since the book is in first person, you know exactly what she’s thinking and feeling.  Suzanne Collins is great with words, just like Peeta is in the book.  And the plotlime is super complicated-which is not easy to do.  She is a true genius, in my (and countless others) opinion.  I am definitely giving this book a √++!

Next week:  Catching Fire and Mockingjay!

Leave a Reply

