Catching Fire and Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

5 Apr

This week I read Catching Fire and Mockngjay by Suzanne Collins.  Since I’ve got break and won’t be able to post, I’m going to do these books together.  So, here’s your summary: Like I said last week, Katniss and Peeta’s problems aren’t over.  When they go on their Victory Tour half a year after their Games, it looks like some of the districts are uprising against the Capitol.  But apparently even that’s not enough for Katniss to deal with.Every 25 years, there’s an even bigger Hunger Games.  At the second Quarter Quell, there were 48 tributes instead of 24.  Since this is the 75 Hunger Games, there’s a new Quell twist.  President Snow announces it: 1 girl and 1 boy from the victors in each district will go back into the arena.  Katniss and Peeta are chosen as tributes for their second Games in a row.  Peeta makes a deal with Haymitch (the only other tribute from their district) that they will both try to keep Katniss alive.  Katniss makes the same deal, only that they will try to keep Peeta alive.   When they get into the arena, it seems that Haymitch has been plotting behind their backs.  When most of the tributes are dead, Katniss, Beetee, and Finnick (two other tributes) are hoverlifted out of the arena by the rebels.  Peeta, Johanna Mason, and Enobaria are taken to the Capitol.  To get Peeta back, Katniss agrees to work for the rebels in the form of a Mockingjay.  She gets the districts all with their cause against the Capitol.  However, when Peeta gets rescued from the Capitol, they find out that he’s hijacked.  What do I mean by that?  Well, the Capitol took his memories of Katniss and made it so that it seemed like she was his enemy.  Katniss distances herself from Peeta until the final attack on the Capitol.  They ate forced to work together to take the city.  In the last moments of the battle, Katniss’ little sister is killed, leaving her devastated.  She returns home with Peeta, although her mother doesn’t go with them.

Wow, that was a long summary!  I’m sure I left some parts out, because I read two other books this week after these two.  And I’m not that good at summaries.  Anyways, onto the rest of the blog.

There’s a complicated love triangle in this story. I guess you might call it complicated character relationships in literary terms.  Katniss always hunts with her friend Gale to support their families.  Breaking the law by hunting is punishable by death, so risking their lives creates a strong bond.  However, in order to survive the Hunger Games, Katniss and Peeta pretend to be in love.  Gale is jealous of Peeta because he is in love with Katniss.  He is devastated when she has to go into another Games.  When Peeta is in the Capitol in Mockingjay, Katniss and Gale’s easy friendship returns.  In the end, Katniss chooses Peeta because he is always loyal to her and Gale’s bombs might have been the ones that killed her sister.

Katniss and I are a tiny bit alike, but not much.  We both like archery, but she is really good at it and hunts frequently.  I only like reading about adventures, where as she has had countless adventures.  I could never kill another human, like she does in her Games.  I would probably be one of the first ones dead.  I also couldn’t pretend to be in love as effectively as her, nor could I be the Mockingjay.  I’m just not good at talking in front of people.  I might have been able to hunt if it was the only way to keep my family alive.

I give this whole series a check plus plus.  I just hope the movies are as good!  My sister and I are going to see the first one tomorrow so I can finally vote on my own poll!

Leave a Reply

